Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

LowRider0123

Boring Cities! Help!

13 posts in this topic Last Reply

Highlighted Posts

• Original Poster
  • Hello fellow Simtropolites!

I’m having trouble creating non-boring cities that do not resemble a checkerboard. Does anyone have any tips or know of anything in the STEX that can give me a hand?

Appreciate it ya'll!>3.gif>

I think the best tip is to take a good look at Google Earth (http://earth.google.com/) and look at some real world examples...and try to mimic them. Alternately, use Mapquest to look at road layout.

I agree, it is extremely hard to make things look real, and I'm just beginning to learn how to do it. It's mindblowing how some people on this site create such incredible cities.

Like Pixelrage stated. look on google or mapquest.

It is challenging to make a city less griddy. Believe me. I randomly do that when im not even paying attention. so..  Good luck with the cites.

i find it not hard to do actually, im laying my roads as i want them to lay, and then zone them, i dont care if they al make 90 degree turns, imo, if it isnt maxis default, it is fine by me

Meastro444

all lots on the STEX are rectangular, unfortunately.

using real-life cities as reference is hard, mainly because u would need generally the same terrain replicated in sc4. an even easier way is to have fun and make something random terrain using the god mode tools or the sc4terraformer. create somethign completely abstract [for a real challege]... or think of ur dream area [would u want a metropolis with buildings vying for waterfront land or competing with a mountain, a self-sustaining island, peninsula, archipelago, etc.]... as long as it's not the default plain.