Sign in to follow this  
Duki

The Mystery of the Plugin Reshuffle that Crashed a Sim World

11 posts in this topic Last Reply

Hello Simtropolis,

Sadly, this is my first post on this amazing site...

I am fairly new to the world of modding and plugins, but have a good idea of what's what and what's supposed to happen in theory...obviously not in practice.

I've basically been spending the last week researching and reading up on all the wonderful customizations that I can enjoy, how to install them, how to run them...and all the wonderful potential of what can be done beyond just playing Sim City 4, and in anticipation of downloading tons of plugins and mods, I thought I would first clean up my plugins folder of the few downloads I did try...there weren't many at all, a few megabytes.

This basically meant rearranging, creating a few folders within the plugins folder in a way that I can track what is going where, as I expected that not long from now I might have hundreds of new plugins. I arranged things by the type of category and lot/mod and sometimes by the person who made it. I had quite a few files land up in an "Unknown Files" folder I made within my plugins folder.

Before I did all this I played the game for a few minutes to try and see what was and wasn't showing up and working in the game from what I already had, a few lots weren't showing up, so I shut the game down, rearranged the folders, removed 1 or 2 files I didn't want any longer and downloaded one or two dependencies that were missing...and tried the game again, except it doesn't work! I get the splash screen...then nothing. The icon in the task bar shows up while the splash is on screen and disappears when the splash disappears. I haven't changed my targets for the shortcut, I haven't modified or moved any mods (only mods I have running is NAM and the God Mode Terrain tools in Mayor Mode Mod...that's a lot of M's).