Sign in to follow this  
apeek

Consequences of Voting

8 posts in this topic Last Reply

I'd like some clarification on the exact consequences my rating of a particular upload has on its creator.  Other than a proverbial high-five or perhaps an occasional wet-willy, does it have any real impact on their privileges or relationships here on simtropolis or otherwise?  I recently learned the hard way that my individual vote is visible to the submitter.  As a developer, I understand the sense of pride that becomes attached to the product of one's energy and devotion.  I also know an artist's work is subjective and never really finished.  That being said, I get the impression that a lot (no pun intended) is riding on that row of little gold stars.  Do the batters, lotters, and modders receive a piece of my $50 pie?  Are they offered or denied opportunities based on their perceived contribution to what really amounts to a game?  Your response is appreciated and will influence my feedback going forth.

As well as giving feedback to the author, the rating feature is supposed to represent the quality of an upload. Although ratings are a subjective figure, they can help show this. I agree, ratings can be a source of pride. But in my opinion, authors should only take them as a guideline, and never personally. Quite often, an upload's comments / reviews can provide more informative feedback than the rating.

Other than this, ratings have no further implications on the author. So in other regards, they can be considered superficial. The author's membership privileges are not affected by them directly. As long as the upload complies with site rules (e.g. is not plagiarised), no consequences can result.