Sign in to follow this  
joecrompton

Are we SC fans about to be Viacomized?

4 posts in this topic Last Reply

First of all, I'm not a newbie, just someone who hasn't posted much.  I've been around since SC2000 and am an avid player of SC4.  I've downloaded many mods and have greatly enjoyed Simtropolis.  I've been a through a number of game developer vs fans battles before.

Given the level of PR shenanigans by EA/Maxis and accusations of censorship of criticisms of EA on this board and others, it may be time to ask ourselves if we are about to be Viacomized?  The reference, for those who may not know, is how Viacom reserved to itself all use of the Star Trek copyright in the mid 1980s after fans had kept ST alive for the previous 17 years (1969-86).  What this means is that at some point, will EA decide that we the fans should not be modding the game or at least distributing said mods freely?  Think how the music industry despises music downloading.  Our City Journals could be construed the same as fan-fictions were to Star Trek (i.e. as copyright infringement).  The corporate lackeys may decide its better to shut down discussion, and insist on controlling the copyright to the fullest extent under the law, than to acknowledge and deal with a mob of unhappy customers. 

And ultimately folks as much as we are fans of this or that game, we are their customer base.  Thats a fact EA/Maxis unquestionably still seems eager to ignore.

EAs shareprice has actually tanked in recent years, so I can't imagine the shareholders are all that happy.