Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

NYGuy11

Newbie with some questions!

8 posts in this topic Last Reply

Highlighted Posts

• Original Poster
  • Hey all,

I am a newbie in the sense that this is my first post here.  I have been looking throughout this website including forums, omnibus, downloads, and so on.  I am no stranger to the Sim City franchise.  I have 2000, 3000, and 4.  I love Sim City and it's such a great game.  A few questions:

1. What downloads are a must have?  I see all the downloads and I am so overwhelmed.  I know the 2 downloads I want is the World Trade Center (I'm from NY and I loved those Towers) and the download that makes all landmarks functioning buildings rather than just another pretty building.  Is there anything I MUST need to make most downloads work?  I have some experience downloading stuff to computer games, mostly for MLB Baseball and NBA Live.  But i have never done anything for SC4.  So, I have a clean slate for that.

2. What is the best way to shut up the advisor that complains there is too much traffic on one road?  I have read some mass transit tutorials, but I can never seem to pull it off right.  It's hard to place subway stops and bus stations.  Also, do bus stations/subway stops hurt the desirability/land value of residential neighborhoods?

3. I realize that the "region" functions as a whole.  I remember reading a while ago that "blocks" that touch each other share the RCI, right?  How do I devote one land piece to just residential or just industrial when the advisor keeps telling me that there is a need for houses/jobs in the area?

Thank you for the help!