Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

bLUEbYTE

Inter-city Commute - Possible?

7 posts in this topic Last Reply

Highlighted Posts

• Original Poster
  • Hello,
    I am just beginning to populate a new region, and I want the cities to be more or less seperated as residence cities, industrial- dump(dirty) cities, commercial cities etc...
    So I am assuming that, a "job" city (commercial or industrial) should be adjacent to at least one residential city, i.e no more than 1 cities are travelled for cummuting.
    Maybe even this is too optimistic, I am not sure, so I want to know that such a thing is possible...
    Please note that I am playing vanilla SC4 Deluxe Edition (no 3rd party mods). And I want it to stay that way.

Here is the picture of my region to give you an idea. All city blocks are large blocks.
    screenshot3po.jpg

So, here I want to make the labeled block an Industrial city, and a residential city to the block to the south of it, for instance.

With proper Avenue/road/rail networks, will it be possible?
    Also note that, the north block is very steep, so I can not build any other type of transportation network there(other than ave, road, rail). 
    Thanks in advance.

It is possible. For best results, build an all-residential city adjacent to the Industrial and Commercial City.

Welcome to the community. PM me if you need help.

Edit: I found this article on the subject. I thought you might be interested.

Article

• Original Poster
  • Yay, that will be neat then. Can't wait to begin 4.gif

Thanks for your kind reply and warm welcome, Constantina. 

Edit: Kudos to Mrfood11 for this cool region.

• Original Poster
  • Hello,

I am having a problem. They don't commute. I made the connection with monorail. Maybe I also need a road connection since the cities are primitive at the moment?