Sign in to follow this  
coreyo

City taking a long time to load

12 posts in this topic Last Reply

Hi everyone. I started playing SC4 again but I'm having some issues. When I first start SC4 and go to load any city, even start a new one, it takes upwards of five minutes to load. No matter what region or city I select, it always takes at least a few minutes. When the city loads up, everything is fine. I don't experience any crashes or major issues. The kicker is that once I exit back to my region and load that city again or load any other city in that region or another, it loads up just fine. It only takes a long time to load when I first start up the game and load the first city. Per the sticky, here's my info:

-Running SC4 Rush Hour with the latest update plus the latest NAM update. No other extras are installed that I know of. 

-Specs:

Asus G51vx Notebook

Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit

Intel Core 2 Duo P7350 @ 2.00 Ghz (2 CPUs), ~2.0 Ghz

NVIDIA GeForce GTX 260M

286 GB HD w/ 143 GB available

4096MB RAM

Page File: 1983MB used, 6204MB available

DirectX 11

What I've tried so far:

-Desktop shortcut is set up so I can run program as an admin, I have this in part of the shortcut "-d:directx  -f -CPUcount:1" without quotes of course, I've tried running in compatibility mode for Windows XP SP 2 and 3 and Windows 2000.

-I have put the game down to lowest settings. I have also tried running under software rendering instead of hardware. 

-I have NOT done a fresh install yet but will try tomorrow.

If I remember anything else, I'll drop another post in here. Thanks in advance!

I'm having the exact same issue: first tile takes a solid 3 minutes to load then all subsequent tiles load much faster (30 secs). Since you stated you have the latest NAM, I highly suspect it to be the reason why the first city you load takes forever: I never had this problem before installing NAM 31.