Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Gman55

An ode to SimCity

5 posts in this topic Last Reply

• Original Poster
  • First of all, hi Simtropolis and thanks for all the great stuff you've made for the game!

The other day I was cleaning out my closet when I found an important relic from my childhood: my original SimCity 2000 box with a receipt inside. It's dated from 1994. I remember having my parents drive all over town looking for an Egghead Software (remember those guys?) store to buy it from. I was 7 at the time 3.gif

After seeing that box, I got a nostalgia rush (man I feel old) about how I spent hours playing SC2k. I honestly think I was a better city designer back then than I am now. Heck, in third grade I remember writing little stories for class assignments about what it would be like to live in an arcology (always the launch one).

Ever since then, SimCity is the only game that I go out and buy on its release date - full price plus the player's guide. This series has always been important to me...for over 10 years now.

Anyway, I'm glad Maxis keeps on releasing more and more sequels to this amazing game. And I'm glad it has a dedicated community that keeps on making it better.

This exact same thing actually happened to me a few weeks ago when I was moving. When we unpacked the boxes in my new apartment I saw it beneath some old schoolbooks. It sure was a great game at the time! 9.gif