Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

ckotchey

Newbie - A question of playing style

8 posts in this topic Last Reply

• Original Poster
  • Hopefully this isnt' too odd a question. Back in ancient days, I played the original SimCity to some extent, and SimCity 2000 to a lesser extent. Soon after came a marriage and kids, so I haven't played any flavor in ages. I just started playing SC4, and I have a very general question about playing style. I know it's an open-ended game to play, but I think i find myself becoming too impatient about things. I don't know if I'm really a bad player, or if I'm simply not taking the time it really takes to allow things to move, grow, and progress. So my simple question is - how long does this game usually take for people to play? Would you say you put in a few hours, dozen hours, or hundreds of hours to grow your little hamlet into a big 1,000,000 population city? As an example, I just started playing by using the "Big City Tutorial" city as my starting point. I think the starting population of this town is around 22,000, and after maybe 3 hours of playing, learning, and tinkering, I'm grown the city now to about 38,000 people. Is this a typicaly growth speed? (Or do I just suck at this stuff?) :-) Hopefully now that I'm older (and hopefully wiser), I can calm myself into taking my time about things. I think I'm also starting to get over my massive fear of demolishing any existing structures to make way for the new - I'm guessing this is also a key to progressing. Somehow, I have a hard time convincing myself it's OK to demolish a line of buildings through the heart of my town to make way for that big ol' avenue or highway that is needed!