4 posts in this topic Last Reply

Highlighted Posts

I think something like this will only happen on Windows computers, but now it's happening to me :

Yesterday , I was upgrading my iPhone 6 from iOS 10 to iOS 11.3 , before the update was completed, the iPhone suddenly went black, and when I rebooted it, it was stuck on apple logo .

I'm no expert on iPhones, but what you describe sounds like a device being bricked. When you flash/update firmware, if that process fails to complete successfully, you can be left in limbo, because the device no longer has the software needed to boot. Worse still, you can't resolve it, since without the software working, you can't access any functions needed to fix the problem. Long and short, you'll need to take it to an Apple store and get it fixed. I hope it's under warranty in this case.

Actually, whilst a computer may fail to update, because it has an underlying BIOS, you can almost always recover a PC from a failed update. In fact, for years now it's commonplace to have two BIOS chips on a motherboard (not all, but good ones generally have this). That way if the BIOS fails, you can switch to the other chip to recover things.

• Original Poster
  • Thanks , i am not an iPhone expert ,and my iPhone 6 has been working for 4 years,The warranty is expired .

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an Account  

Register a New Account

Sign In  

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

• Similar Content

• By Tarkus
        For those who haven't heard yet, Apple announced at this year's Worldwide Development Conference (WWDC) that it was going to be phasing out support for 32-bit applications for macOS in 2018.  The main points of the announcement are as follows: