ammo8121

Education without schools

9 posts in this topic Last Reply

I recently started playing SimCity 4 again. I tried to create 2 residential zones with one having no education, and the other having full education. Basically trying to divide classes. About 10 years in, my no education zone got as educated as my fully educated area. Is this a bug? I was trying to keep the uneducated zone low wealth

I've consistently found it very difficult to create low, med, and high wealth divisions in SC4.  I've tried using garbage dumps and starving resources and cutting off traffic, taxing the poor to feed the rich, but it seems as soon as there's any med or high wealth or availability of civil services, the Sims are very nice people who lift up their neighbors to at least med wealth.   

SC4 doesn't start at a condition of complete scarcity of resources and lack of availability of skill and tech, it more so begins in the 20th century with an optimistic vision that if you manage things well, you can build utopia.   A lot of the game is focused on crisis management and enabling the player to succeed.      

Is this a bug?  Most likely not.  Why is this happening?  The best answer is "It depends!"  I obviously don't know specifics about the city you are developing so most of this the following is very generic.

It depends on whether you are playing plain vanilla, or are using custom content.  Some custom content can have stats that are very different to similar Maxis facilities, especially radius being served, and often, amount of EQ boost. 

Don't forget that there are other buildings that might provide a more hefty EQ boost than schools, over a much wider area, sometimes to a much large segment of the population.  Think museums and libraries.  Again the stats issue for custom content vs. plain vanilla.

Don't forget that unlike public safety facilities, an education facility exerts its full effect to every tile within its radius of effect.