What is your preferred format for an introduction into C:SL mod development?  

36 members have voted

1. 1. What is your preferred format for an introduction into C:SL mod development?

• Written Tutorials (e.g. "How to make a Bus Stop Replacer Mod")
    • Video Tutorials
    • Mod Example Project with comments in code (for download)
    • Documentation of the different simulation systems and classes of the game

31 posts in this topic Last Reply

Highlighted Posts

Is this a coincidence? I tweeted this a couple hours ago. :D

Although my video won't be about modding specifically, just about running scripts and changing some values for testing probably, for complete beginners. So it still could be useful since browsing mod tools and making temporary scripts is how I get mod ideas.

My vote was for the written one, since then you could explain the process of making a mod from scratch, depends how inexperienced your target audience is.

The problem I see with some tutorials in any field is that some things are not explained and it's "just do this because I said so". I guess there are people who want that but I'm not betting on those actually getting anywhere with modding. If people understand why the code is what it is, it's more likely they can apply this knowledge to their own modding ideas.

As a noob in asset editing, I would be really interested in a tutorial about the basics of ModTools scripts.

About the format, I usually prefer text tutorials rather than videos, as you can get a better overview, e.g. skip the parts you already know about, easily find parts which you didn't understand at the first read, etc.
Of course there are exceptions where videos are more effective.

I think a start-up one would be super helpful, taking us right from the beginning to end on "how to create x mod". That would ideally include *everything*, like literally every step of the way from writing a script to running it in ModTools, etc.

• Original Poster