Miccrosshill

mic´s assets: Release Jacked-up Boat & SailingShip "Simtropolis"

188 posts in this topic Last Reply

hi there,

i am new in this community, so this is my first post. Also i am new to moddeling, i choosed Blender to make my models and i am watching one tutorial after another.

For my first project i choosed a kind of old signal station - i did not found the english translation - for the germans here - weichenstellwerk. Thats what it looks to me.

I appriciate all tips and helps you can provide :)

first of all - i preparation to get this later in the game - how can i add traintracks to the model? I saw a template from bloodyPenguin for the Cargostation - this may be not suitable to my model.

Untitled-4.jpg.b08e36ef3f17cc2e18aedc901bc3f5ba.jpg

first.jpg.2290962f28d41c903d77a522b3cb2560.jpg

Welcome and great work! I wouldn't bother making it follow the terrain because it would look weird and tracks are usually placed on flat ground anyway... For the textures it really depends. Baking is probably better if you want some ambient occlusion or if you have complicated layouts that are not convenient to place on a unique texture. Otherwise not using baking allows to overlay UVs thus improving the overall resolution. The tris count seems adequate for such a building (size+detail+won't be used a lot). What matters most is the optimization of the LOD. I'd say it should be possible to shoot for under 150 tris and 128 or 256 textures, but that's a very rough estimate. Keep it up!

17 hours ago, Miccrosshill said:

Thanky a lot for the welcome :)

I will make it "free to place" - i finished the basic buildup with basic textures. Is it better to have a plane/block  on the ground? I saw severall Assets that bend with the ground in CS.

Next step will be finetuning and joining all together *hehe - i frighten the upcoming work*. Also is it better to bake textures?

btw:

Verts:805

Faces: 493

Tris:1473

is that ok ?

thanks for your advises in advance