Sign in to follow this  
Mystic A

Help me understand NAM traffic

14 posts in this topic Last Reply

Hey guys

I've been playing SimCity4 for several years now, and I've really enjoyed this site, and forums.

Anyways, I've been using the NAM, and RHW for a long time now, but I've always seemed to have problems with abandonment due to commute time.

So far it's been fine, as I've never really built a city much bigger than 200k residential. Now, however I'm going for a personal goal of building a single large tile into a city of 1.000.000, and I've been getting a lot of problems.

Basically I'm on a large tile with a river running through the middle. So far I've only populated one side, and I've got a population of around 350k. Most of the time, it appears I have to place my housing right next to a place with empty jobs, or the building will get abandoned. What confuses me is that at the time time, I've got a couple medium density houses, which are totally content driving across the whole map to work.

I also experimented, by dragging a maxis highway from one of my residential areas into a IHT area that wasn't getting many employees. As soon as I did I got a ton of people driving a long way to get to the highway, and suddenly all the industries were getting filled up with workers.

So sometimes, I've got houses that only seem content with driving a short distance before abandoning, while others are driving really far. And, I've got both industrial and commercial areas that aren't getting enough employees.

Is there any logic to this that I've misunderstood? Or did I somehow mess up installing the NAM?

At the moment it seems I either have to build by trial and error, or I have to give up any hope of building a realistic CBD, and just build R and C mixed in with each other. I thought part of the point of the NAM was to fix this.

I'd really appreciate if some of you guys could help clear this up for me. I hope I'm providing enough detail to explain the problem...