Sign in to follow this  
ryamika

Strange City Lag - Only in part of a city...

10 posts in this topic Last Reply

Hello,

I have a strange lag issue and I'm wondering if others have experienced this or if anyone might have a suggestion on how to fix it.

I'm running SimCity 4 Rush Hour with CAM and NAM

Intel i7 860 2.8GHz

12GB RAM

NVIDIA Geforce GT 220

Windows 7 64-bit

For the most part the game runs fine. No lag issues or anything out of the ordinary. I've been playing SC4 for several years off and on and never had any major problems.

However, in my current region I have 3 cities. I've just laid out the transportation grid (roads, aves, highways, subway and monorail)... nothing else for all 3 cities. All 3 cities have bascially the same setup using the same items; meaning no single city has anything different from the other two.

As I started to zone is when I noticed my problem. In city 1 and city 2, everything is fine. No lag.

However, in city 3, I started to get horrible lag and long freezes in just one area of the city. City 3 is bascially divided into 4 squares. 3 of those sqaures work fine. I can zone, build, etc with no issues. In the 4th square, when I zone res, comm or ind, it just lags and freezes for sometimes minutes at a time. Yet, when I go to any other part of the city, I can zone just fine.

I've tried many of the fixes. Set affinity to 1, adjust video card settings, adjust game graphics settings, use software mode, etc... but I don't know if my issue is related to any of that seeing as everything works except in that one area.

After a few tests, it seems that the lag occurs when I place any civic, education or health building and then place zones. I have user created police, school, fire, hospital, etc... but the problem occurs with both the default Maxis ones as well as the user created ones. If I place a landmark or user created ploppable building it's fine.