Sign in to follow this  
Amnesia180

Newbie - Direction?

6 posts in this topic Last Reply

Hi All,

I'm a newbie to Sim City 4. Got it for less than a fiver and have to admit, it is such an additing game.

I've done the tutorial, and decided to start my own region. I've begun building in two areas of the region, will each city continue to grow/create revenue whilst I'm working on the other? If not, what is the need to connect via road/rail/bus to other cities?

Also, I find I tend to fill the whole map in zones within a couple of hours (yes, I play on easy so have a lot of money to start with). So once the place is filled, it seems I lack in things to do?

I am sure I am rushing the developing/growth of my city, any tips on how to slow down or pace myself a bit more?

Oh, and another thing... the demand for agriculture is always sky high when I create cities. How can I change this?

Many thanks!

Amnesia

one way to slow yourself down is to download mods that extra buildings to your city, especially ploppable buildings that you have to figure out how to place in your cities. agriculture will die off as the game progresses

• Original Poster
  • Thanks,

I am one of these that has an end result in my mind, but obviously it takes time to develop. I like the fact you can de-zone and re-zone areas, meaning I can constantly tweak.

At the moment, I'm caught up in "one section for industry, one section for commercial, one section for homes". When in reality, there is no reason I can't integrate those rather than having three separate areas of my city.