Sign in to follow this  
StroudBass

Dumb question regarding config files

3 posts in this topic Last Reply

Forgive the stupidly simple question. Im still learning the basics.

Im just making a new region. I don't think I need to do anything with a greyscale map as I jut want to set the overall and city sizes and placement for the region.

Ive made a new region and then made a nice big confis file. 40 pixels by 40. Plan was to start terraforming manually from the middle outwards city by city. Playing the cities as I expand outwards. I therefore just made the config green with a few 4 by 4 blues in the middle. The plan was to edit the config as I go.

However when I pasted the config into the region folder I see the 2 big cities...then nothing else connected. The medium cities are just randomly away. Many of them diagonally overlapping...like rooftiles. I was just expecting to see a plain un-terraformed region, made up of medium cities with two large cities in the middle.

What am I doing wrong?

Cheers, Alex

Originally posted by: StroudBass

Forgive the stupidly simple question. Im still learning the basics.

Im just making a new region. I don't think I need to do anything with a greyscale map as I jut want to set the overall and city sizes and placement for the region.

Ive made a new region and then made a nice big confis file. 40 pixels by 40. Plan was to start terraforming manually from the middle outwards city by city. Playing the cities as I expand outwards. I therefore just made the config green with a few 4 by 4 blues in the middle. The plan was to edit the config as I go.

However when I pasted the config into the region folder I see the 2 big cities...then nothing else connected. The medium cities are just randomly away. Many of them diagonally overlapping...like rooftiles. I was just expecting to see a plain un-terraformed region, made up of medium cities with two large cities in the middle.

What am I doing wrong?

Cheers, Alexquote>