mattb325

Member
  • Content Count

    1,152
  • Joined

  • Last Visited

Community Reputation

906 Legendary

About mattb325

  • Rank
    Bureaucrat

Profile Information

  • Gender
    Male

Recent Profile Visitors

1,227,120 profile views
  1. Just amazing! Great to see someone as talented as yourself making a city I thought would be impossible to create in SC4
  2. Looking at your preview render shot, I'd say that your background colour is off. Open the material editor, and then under Rendering->Environment drag (as an instance, not a copy) of MR_Physical_Sky to an empty slot. Then, click on the ground colour and slide the whiteness to its max value and the saturation to its leftmost value. You'll end up with an RGB of 0,008/0,008/0,007 and that seems to do the trick 99% of the time.
  3. The BAT looks lovely indeed and is excellent work for a beginner! However, the 4kb file 'paternoster' isn't useable in game. You need to upload the .SC4model file, the .SC4 lot file and the .SC4 desc files so that others can make this work. Also, as so many people seem quick to downrate other's work, I would also include some statistics - eg is it a landmark or growable, does it provide jobs, if so, how many etc.
  4. It is almost certain that you have zoned from street to street in one continuous go. (ie by holding the mouse down and dragging a large area) It doesn't matter if the zones are broken up into 1x2 lots automatically; the game will treat each area zoned like this as a corner lot. If you want to be 100% certain that you wont grow corner buildings on non corner lots, then you will need to zone each tile separately.
    Looks like this will be a great asset for older areas: thanks for sharing
  5. OK, then....to address your issues raised: A few posts back, you called @unrisenstar - a user who is inactive - a 'liar' for the streched hvacs (see attached pic). You have also castigated him for a post from 2012 on one of his uploads. That is the epitome of disrespectful and I will challenge your assertion that it is merely borne of a distaste of "omg awesome" comments. Now of course I believe you can comment on a building which has no nitelites. That isn't what my post is about. What you need to understand is that the exchange is full of creations which are not to the same standards that were a) prevalent at the time they were released, and, b) as they were released at different times over the last decade, most are unlikely to be to todays' standards either. Notwithstanding, all creations reflect the creators tastes and standards. Whether it is to your standards is actually irrelevant to the content itself. I don't believe that it is a waste of time for users to download a file which doesn't have nitelites or which has nitelites that only work with a mod they have chosen not to install. I believe the STEX rules state that one person's trash is another's treasure. Of course it is not only you who has this problem: however, you have decided to publicly raise the issue in upload notes and here on the forum. Just as you have asserted your right to comment, let me assert my right to give you the other side of the coin. You also appear to be rather passionate/worked up about the issues, so I gave you an option that is already available to people who don't like the way a lot functions in game: that is, relot it and re-release it. I'll even go so far as to give you another super easy fix for the bulk of the buildings which you have stated are too dark under the default night mode: download the darknight mod that will enable you to use content that you have otherwise dismissed as unusable for your game.
  6. I definitely disagree with allowing any user the freedom to edit a creator's content description merely to state their opinion on the content. @ Cool_Z, I have seen your comments - some respectful, others less so - that you have left on a swathe of STEX files, but those comments reflect only your opinion about what works for you based on your playing style. While it appears that you have an issue with BATS that don't list full stats, conform to naming conventions and or nightlighting nuances and you eschew those with dependencies, be aware that not every player plays the game at night and that most players have many of the dependencies listed. Nightlighting issues depend on whether the creator made their model with GMax, had their game patched (remember that Maxis HAD TO PATCH SC4 to get custom content night lighting working) or had an old version of 3DS Max (prior to Simfoxes DayNite Mod) or made with a current 3DS Max and Simfoxes trunite mod, or simply didn't want to release two versions of their BAT. Most of the models you have listed are older files, and the creator is inactive: it is inconceivable that they ought to update their files to conform with a mod that was released after they made their model file. And that of course, assumes that they still have that model file on their computer. So apart from nightlighting, I suggest that if there is content that you like the look of, but which doesn't conform to your standards or the way you play the game, then 'correct' the lot stats and release this 'corrected' lot pointing back to the original model file as a dependency; similar to what twrecks has done with his Industrial Revolution Mod or what other lotters do when they like a model file, but not the stats or lot that comes with it.
  7. @Bipin - the houses look lovely. There is a texture dependency that isn't listed (not sure what it is but many of the lots suffer a blank texture for me). @APSMS - my houses are modded with the PIM-X. They have varying footprints and sizes which give varying capacities. Those which have footprints close to the Maxis dimensions have values almost identical to the Maxis houses. Those with larger footprints than the Maxis houses have higher capacities. It is that simple, and my houses are modded correctly. I know that some people baulk at 25-35 residents in a suburban-looking house, but the game doesn't see it the same way. If all my houses were 12 residents or fewer in line with Maxis (or even 2-6 like Real Life), then it would be very difficult to create large suburban areas and still feed into regional CO/CS and IND demand.
  8. Quite a random assortment of Bats, to be honest
  9. dude, don't leave b/c of others being a-hats.. You do great work. My cities are full of your creations.. I wish I had a tenth of your talent making these things

  10. Again, I will repeat the request for an administrator to lock this file and I will be on my way.
  11. Prens and Cycleboom. These are my files and work which I have decided to share with people free of charge. If users wish to rate that down - without downloading and using it, then I will take those users to task. I don't care about the 4 stars, I care about the disingenuous words that go with it. Your comments certainly infer that the system is skewed to the reviewer. That of course is the right of the site, which is also offered free of charge. As I have said, I only hope those people who need to have their criticisms aired are able to provide more value and benefit to the community than a content creator.
  12. Thanks @Bombardiere and @tankmank and others who have been supportive I receive negative comments/pms daily, even though the overwhelming majority of negative comments are still reasonably polite. But polite or otherwise, they are still negative comments and less than favourable ratings and it all adds up, so at this point, this is now looks like the very last release for me. Let's just hope that those making the negative comments can offer the SC4 community more than those who have been driven away by such comments.
  13. @sucram17your review states: "This is just perfect. Its just a shame that you use those tight unrealistic parkinglots. But still incredible work." And yet you then proceed to downrate the file? Do you know the meaning of perfect? I am tired of asinine and arbitrary comments and have submitted this file to an admin to be locked.
    They look great - thanks for sharing!