• monsterjamp
    monsterjamp

Maxis Explains City Sizes

According to Maxis the city sizes are due to performance issues and better simulation. They also said making city sizes too big made players "repeat parts of their cities". For the 16 city limit per region, Maxis said it was due to performance issues on the client (not computers) and budget.

This is all confirmed by Maxis' software engineer Richard Shemaka, who claims that having all these "components all interacting in real-time on a mid-range home computer" is practically a technical marvel.

User Feedback

Indeed, thanks for posting that. The question at the end asks "Should Maxis be working on this issue?" If they want my $60, they better.

Also, I'm no techie, but those last few paragraphs are interesting. Could they indicate a correlation between the cloud nature of this game and its map limitations? That's something I suspected a long time and would not be surprised to find it be true.

Share this comment

Indeed, thanks for posting that. The question at the end asks "Should Maxis be working on this issue?" If they want my $60, they better.

Also, I'm no techie, but those last few paragraphs are interesting. Could they indicate a correlation between the cloud nature of this game and its map limitations? That's something I suspected a long time and would not be surprised to find it be true.

Yeah the # of cities is due to the servers and budget. And I bet much more is cause of this too. I hope they atleast make an offline version.

Share this comment

Why does it seem that Maxis makes SimCity games 10 years ahead of their time? They said the same sort of thing 10 years ago when asked why SimCity 4 wasn't in full 3d? "The technology isn't there!"

I wonder what it would be like if they worked with technology that was here today... :P

Share this comment