• Moose
  • Entry
  • Comments
  • Views

About this City Journal

A fast-growing, urbanized region, it is situated on mostly flat land with a few natural features that enhance the region's landscape. No, this is not barren space; rather, this is mostly out of grasslands, similar to the United States' Midwes

Entries in this City Journal

fieldsofdreams

The Beginning

Author's Note: this is my first time after a long hiatus creating a City Journal, and I believe that my new flagship CJ will become stronger, better, and more dynamic than ever before. I'm also looking at creating two more versions of this CJ, one for Skyscraper City (a condensed version), the other for my website (with extra back stories). Everything you'll see here reflects my building style and development, and it encompasses my core beliefs governing city planning, something I've been pursuing for the past four years. I've been playing SimCity 4 for nearly a decade now, and it has been a pleasure for me to continue playing it to a point that I've used it to help me guide myself to my chosen major, City and Regional Planning (also called Urban Studies and Planning). Hope you'll enjoy my new journal.

A metropolis, for me, means multiple cities having thousands or millions of people crammed within a small land mass. A metropolis, also, could mean a collection of communities working together to build a common goal for a particular region that will help it become economically and socially successful. And Contra Costa, I believe, is an amalgamation of both definitions.

So far, the region has three distinct cities. But, don't be fooled by the total regional population at this moment with all those communities combined:

San Marcos (medium city tile, population: 312,000), home to the region's first university, Saint Mark's University.

14670032709_74236f50d1_o.jpg