• Entries
  • Comments
  • Views

About this City Journal

Come see The Federated Kingdom of Heimen

Entries in this City Journal

vivapanda

56. Lake Stil

It has been a long time since my last activity here on Simtropolis, since April 2013 (!) to be exact. Thanks to this rainy summer and the enormous amount of available custom content I recently started playing SC4 again, of which you can see a bit of the result here: I introduce the Island of Stil!

Stil is a small republic (Stilnem Repblik) that encompasses the volcanic island of the same name. Its volcanic history made for a very mountainous landscape. The middle of the island is marked by the deep blue old crater lake (Lag w-Stil). Most of the 34.000 inhabitants live in the valley that connects the lake to the harbor, scattered around the coast there are some small towns and hamlets. 

As the update title has revealed, during this update we will focus on the crater lake and the towns on its shores.

In the middle of the lake Templom Arkan (the old monastery) pops up above the water. For centuries this has been a refuge for a dozen of monks and pilgrims from the island. Nowadays it is still in use by the monastery, and accessible to the public. Usually the island is mostly reached by a 50 metre swim across from the shore

1_zps8y32ybuf.png

Leg-y-fels sits on the most inland shore. North to South a part of the lake ring road , Sand kar z-Leg (A1) can be seen. To the West is the road (A8) that twist its way up to the towns of Pas and Fels-w-Haw

2_zps4qcwxrhw.png

Driving around on Stil, you will never be bored by a dull straight, flat road.

3_zps3mlgl76d.png

The town of Fels-w-Ekr, endpoint of tram line B, towards the right it runs through the densely populated valley down to the harbor.

4_zps8dj1wlmd.png

5_zpslzep7kf1.png