• Comments
  • Views

Note № Two: About Deserts

Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
PaulSawyer

Replies

111222333444: thank you!

ggamgus: With such an amount of files uploaded on the STEX and LEX SimCity 4 simply can not be just a game, it’s an instrument for creating art (pathosly said, but true).

Schulmanator: …we will we will rock you… © :)

NMUSpidey: the monastic life is not so sweet even in such places, so think well ;)

TekindusT: yeah, thank you for your comment! :)

escilnavia: there is nothing difficult in doing deserts, and you will see it now. :)

Escilnavia's comment on my previous entry enspired me to practice in desert landcsaping, and in this note I will try to make some kind of tutorial on how to make realistic landscape of sandy desert. I've never done any tutorials before so don't judge me strictly and ask if something is unclear.

So, first of all, what is sandy desert? Usually it is dunes, stretching for hundreds or thousands of miles,

A lot of useful information about dunes can be read on Wikipedia, I will only show the main details that we need.

400pxbarchan.jpg

Dunes are formed by wind. Its windward side is flat (till 15 °) and leeward is more steep (till 35 °) and crumbling. The height of the dunes can reach 100-150 and in some cases even 300 meters, and its length can reach many kilometers. A single dune has a crescent-shaped ridge and elongated in the direction of the wind edges called the horns. Usually dune is perpendicular to the direction of prevailing winds, but there are some places on the Earth, where winds change periodically, and the dunes get fancy forms there.

How to make dunes in SimCity.

Take a hill instrument …

unled2copyl.jpg

…and make an elevation so that one side is flat and the other is steeper. The form of elevation is on your choice, but it will be better if it is round – then dune will look more realistic.

unled3copyj.jpg

Smoothing tool can be used to make smooth slopes of the hill.