Sign in to follow this  
BRStackola

15,000 sims taking the bus to nowhere?

Hi all,

I just started playing Simcity 4 for the first time and I've recently come across a strange mass transit "issue."

In a nutshell, the R$$ residents from one city are taking mass transit in a single direction, and I have no idea where they are ending up.

The transit query is telling me that about 15000 sims are heading into my ht/ag region via bus.

When I query the same avenue in the ht/ag region, it is telling me that only 70 busses are entering the region.

Where are those 15000 sims going?

On that note. My train station's "actual usage" is running at 28,000/200... What are the ramifications of that? I read in another thread during my troubleshooting searches that the station is "shut down" but it seems to still be running? How can I tell?

It sounds like you're talking about two different cities here.  Generally, if you play the cities back and forth enough, the numbers will even out.

As for your train station, it's true, normally stations will shut down when they reach about 400% of capacity or slightly higher.  But it's not a fixed number.  If you play the city long enough, it might settle down around 8000, but then again, it might not.  In any case, you've got more traffic than that station can handle.  If you don't already have the NAM yet, install it.  (be sure to get the latest version.)  If you do have it (or after you install it if you don't), bulldoze that train station and replace it with an exact duplicate.  The capacity will be more than an order of magnitude higher.

It's actually a chain of 4 regions, set up like so. A = ht/ag, B = mixed class R/C. D = IM, C = R$$.

1 2 3  456

1 AAA

2 AAA  BBB

3 AAA  BBB

4 CCC DDD

5 CCC DDD

6 CCC

So what's happening is that the R$$ in 6C3 are taking the bus to a train station on 4D4.

That Station ends at 3B4, where they take a bus through 2B4 and presumably into 2A3 via an Avenue.