Sign in to follow this  
Board_Marshal

FYI: blog post by software engineer on SC2013 transportation team

8 posts in this topic

"Hello, I’m Alexander Harkness, and I’m a Software Engineer working in the transportation team of SimCity..."

http://www.simcity.com/en_US/blog/article/under-the-hood-of-simcitys-traffic

I'm not this guy, I just saw it posted over on SC reddit and posting it here.

http://www.reddit.com/r/SimCity/comments/1aw4xh/under_the_hood_of_simcitys_traffic/

This is a good read.

I personally think that for the most part, the actual traffic system works very well. Its realistic, and fairly intelligent. There are a couple of improvements that can be made, but for the most part, its good.

The issues we are all experiencing seem to have more to do with the agent AI, than with the traffic system. Take the service vehicles as an example. The issue with garbage collection is not traffic, its that the vehicles appear to take a pretty random route, that often leads them following each other around, instead of dividing themselves up. Obviously in a town where there is crazy traffic at 5am, that is going to slow down collection.

Take the traffic quantities as another example: in a sensible city with a good workers/jobs balance and no insane commuter numbers, this again works pretty well. The problems come when you suddenly get an unlimited number of visitors from the region because of an acknowledged issue with mass transit.

So yeah, this is interesting, and I think for the most part it is great. But there are still a lot of issues that need addressing in order to fix our traffic problems. But they aren't really issues with the road system