Sign in to follow this  
Ebolarama

Does Region Population Mean Anything?

15 posts in this topic

Hello everyone, I bought sim city 5 it just crashes and I had the itch so I got sim city 4 and I am now hooked.

With that said its been about a week since I started playing I've failed countless times and started over. I know think I have a good system going and finally not losing money.

Ive googled my question and looked on her some but didnt find it.

I was wondering when you want to build a city with skyscrapers and all of that. I read you have to have atleast 100,000 in population. Does Region populations count?

Heres what I have going on now.  I have one small map to the side that im using neighbor deals and using as dirty and manufacturing industry. Then I have one big map that is my residential area.  And just recently  expanded north and have some suburbs with manufacturing industry only.

But Im saving the waterfront map for my city. Since I have all of this going on will I be able to start a city right away or will I need to start small and work up again? I sure hope thats not the case.

Thanks!

The relationship between building stages and population is somewhat complex (the site hosting the tutorial is currently offline), but yes, the size of buildings that will grow is based on your total regional population.

More specifically, the stages are dependant on the total population for each wealth class. (IIRC) If you build tons of R$ population, you'll soon see R$ apartment towers start to grow (provided you zone high density) pretty quickly...but it will be awhile longer before you start seeing R$$ and R$$$ towers growing.

The total population gives you a really rough estimate. It is more of just a feeling of accomplishment. Hitting that 1 million mark for the first time feels good.

Welcome to Simtropolis