Sign in to follow this  
nertskull

RCI super high, nothing is growing

So I'm brand new to the sims world.  But I got SimCity 4 last week and started playing and it was fun.  Then I decided to try some mods.  So I installed SPAM, NAM, and CAM.  Things were good until I installed CAM.  I had super high RCI, but then  I installed the double work bug fix for it. Now RCI is still high, but not off the charts high.

BUT, no one moves in.  I have a city right now that has plenty of water, fire, police, health.  I have lots of education.  I have green desirability for basically everything.  My RCI for residential is high (R$-24,000 R$$-17,000 R$$$-6,000) and I have only hit 3%, 1% and 0% of my caps for residential.  I have 7x7 residential lots with at least one park square on each, most have 2 or 3.  Everyone is healthy and happy, my mayor rating is one bar short of full.  There is no traffic problems, plenty of power and garbage disposal.

BUT, no one moves in.  I have high density residential zones that have single family housing on them.  And I let it run over night and it never upgrades to any sort of apartment building.  I'm not looking for towering sky scrapers, but I'd like to at least have some upwards growth.  The only way I can get people to move in is to keep expanding outwards and building more areas for new zones.

So I thought, allright, maybe its like a real city where it expands out before it goes up.  So I started a new city on a smaller lot.  And ran through the motions again.  I filled up almost the entire city section with housing, industry, farms and office space.  Again, no growth up.  I can't expand any further out.  I have lots of areas of low medium and high density residential.  But again, all of them are single homes.  My RCI is through the roof for basically everything.