Sign in to follow this  
figuremeout

So I'm looking to start a steampunk city...

So I was thinking, after playing SimCity 4 since it has been first released on PC and now playing it on my Macbook Pro for the past 2 years, I've grown to love the game more than I've ever have in the past with previous versions. I'm new to the site and the universe of downloads, so I would consider this as my introduction to the Simtropolis Forums as a undertaking only to further improve my skills in this awesome game.

Now, outside of SC4, I'm an illustrator that spends my days thinking and sketching out ideas for games, movies, etc. and have always taken to my hobbies and games I play as inspiring. Playing SC4 has brought about a passion and understanding for the city I live in, Detroit. Which brings me to my proposal, if not the beginnings of a great CJ story.

With Detroit being such a great inspiration all around me, I always envisioned this city if it had never "died". Picture Detroit at its height, without ever having demolished the majority of its history, yet still at the height of modern day technology. The thought started me on the path of building a massively industrial and Victorian-inspired cityscape.So I saw a skyline of grand Victorian inspired skyscrapers and neo-classical brick buildings towering over the streets of my cities in SC4, with a steampunk flair of billowing steam chimneys, exposed pipes, and fantastic industrial machinery. I know SC4 does offer "Chicago 1894", but its not enough for the traffic, the civic buildings, etc. to really feel like the height of a world both Jules Verne and Doctor Who could live in.

Can anyone help me point this idea towards reality?