Sign in to follow this  
mhamilton

crashes only when playing one city

I've been playing SC4 Deluxe for a few months now with no issues at all, have the latest updates.  My main city is just getting pretty far along: 260k res, 100k commercial, 10k industrial, filling up the 2nd largest map.  Everything was going fine until I started remodeling one section of the city to place a boulevard, and now suddenly it crashes ever 5 minutes to the desktop.  Still plays any other city without any issues.  I can play the large city on pause, but as soon as  I run the simulator it crashes.  

I've tried turning down graphics quality, etc.  Nothing changes, after exactly 5 minutes I get a black screen and it's done.  Have I just run out of resources for the simulator? Please don't tell me my city is corrupt :-(  Is there anything else I can try? I've read most of the CTD threads, but nothing that's specific to one city crashing.

A couple things you might mention... Do you or have you used any downloaded custom content? If so, have you added or removed anything recently? Also, you might mention your computer specifications. Let us know...

The only thing I currently have is the Grand Railroad fix. Everything else is what came with the game. There are 2 bugs in this city, but they were not affecting play any time in the past. One is the landfill, I have a couple boxes that I couldn't get rid of even with the garbage hacks (and that addon is removed). The other is with the Grand Railroad--I built it and then had to bulldoze to move it, but it messed up and bulldozed only half, yet it's still functioning? IDK, I couldn't find anything in my searches related to that bug.

My computer's an older Dell, Celeron D 2.5GHz, 512mb ram, onboard video. All other apps are closed when playing SC4. And as I said, it was working flawlessly before and still does on all my other cities (those are not nearly as large, <100k population).

Thanks for any suggestions!